2007 Health Care Heroes Announced

Stephen K. Klasko, MD, MBA, Vice President of USF Health and Dean of the USF College of Medicine has been awarded the 2007 Health Care Heroes Award for Health Care Education. This year’s award in Health Care Innovation & Research goes to William S. Dalton, PhD, MD, President & CEO of H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and a Professor of Interdisciplinary Oncology in the USF College of Medicine.

The Tampa Bay Business Journal announced this year’s awards during a ceremony, October 11th. In all, there were 33 finalists from throughout the Tampa Bay area. A total of fourteen finalists were faculty members from USF Health. The Journal’s 2007 Health Care Heroes – sponsored this year by Fowler White Boggs Banker, MAG Mutual, SunTrust Bank and AVSS – awards individuals and organizations in the community who have a major impact on the quality of health provided to area residents.

Congratulations to Dr. Klasko and to all our finalists!

USF Health finalists for 2007 Health Care Heroes:

COMMUNITY OUTREACH: Barbara Morris, MS, assistant director, The SMART Institute; Lynn N. Ringenberg, MD, division chief, general pediatrics, USF Pediatrics – Ronald McDonald Care Mobile.

HEALTH CARE EDUCATOR: Stephen Klasko, MD, MBA, vice president, USF Health/dean, College of Medicine; Jenny Molloy, ARNP, instructor, USF College of Nursing; Richard J. Schrot, MD, course director, physical diagnosis, USF College of Medicine.

HEALTH CARE INNOVATION AND RESEARCH: William S. Dalton, PhD, MD, president/chief executive officer, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute; Richard Heller, PhD, professor, USF, College of Medicine; Shyam S. Mohapatra, MD, professor, USF, James A. Haley VA Hospital; Gwendolyn P. Quinn, MD, associate professor, USF.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT: Neil A. Fenske, MD, professor, chairman, USF Department of Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery; John I. Malone, MD, professor, USF.

MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL – PHYSICIAN: G. Douglas, Letson, MD, professor, director/division chief, USF/H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute; Vincent D. Perron, MD, physician, USF College of Medicine, Geriatrics; Carlos A. Santana, MD, associate professor/director, USF.

Click on Tampa Bay Business Journal for expanded coverage of the 2007 Health Care Heroes Awards.

Story by Sarah Worth