We are thankful faculty like Dr. Kay Perrin are recognized for academic excellence

| Academic & Student Affairs, CFH, Featured News, Monday Letter, Our Accolades, Undergraduate

Dr. Perrin Receives 2013 Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education

Dr. Karen (Kay) Perrin was presented with the 2013 Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education during the Undergraduate Education for Public Health Summit, held in Boston, MA on Saturday, November 2. The Summit, sponsored by ASPPH and the Association of American Colleges and Universities, is held in conjunction with the ASPPH Annual Meeting. The Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education, which is made possible by a grant from Dr. Richard and Mrs. Linda Riegelman, recognizes a full-time, undergraduate public health faculty member at a university with a CEPH-accredited school or program of public health, who has demonstrated exemplary efforts to start a new program, collaborated both with community partners and other disciplines, and garnered respect and enthusiasm from students.

Kay Perrin presented with Riegelman Award

Dean John Finnegan (Minnesota), chair of the ASPPH Board of Directors, presented the award to Dr. Perrin, director of undergraduate public health studies program and an associate professor of community and family health at the University of South Florida College of Public Health.

Dr. Perrin was recognized for fostering excitement about the field of public health in the undergraduate arena and for nurturing future public health leaders through her unwavering commitment to undergraduate public health education. She created the first Bachelor of Science in Public Health housed in a CEPH-accredited college In Florida in February of 2011, with 850 students enrolled in the program as of spring 2013. In her acceptance remarks, Dr. Perrin thanked Dean Donna Petersen for her support and acknowledged her colleagues for their contributions to her work in undergraduate public health education.

ASPPH congratulates Dr. Perrin for receiving this important honor.

To read more about the recipient, please click here.

Reprinted from the ASPPH Friday Letter

Tags: , , , , ,