Three USF Health professors elected charter fellows of National Academy of Inventors

Three USF Health faculty members were among five professors from University of South Florida recently elected as charter fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI):

  • Barbara C. Hansen, PhD, Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics and Director of the Center for Preclinical Research
  • Shyam Mohapatra, PhD, Distinguished Health Professor, Vice Chair for Research in Internal Medicine and Director of the Division of Translational Medicine, USF Nanomedicine Research Center
  • Paul R. Sanberg, PhD, DSc, Vice President for Research & Innovation, Distinguished University Professor, Executive Director of the Center of Excellence for Aging and Brain Repair, and Vice Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery in the Morsani College of Medicine

Barbara Hansen  Shyam Mohapatra  Paul Sanberg

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. The 101 innovators elected to NAI Fellow status represent 56 prestigious universities and non-profit research institutes. Collectively, they hold more than 3,200 U.S. patents.

The NAI was founded at the University of South Florida and is headquartered in the USF Research Park.

Click here for full news release.