Dr. Jorge Lockhart named Honor Member of international urology society

USF Health’s Jorge Lockhart, MD, professor and chair of the Department of Urology in the USF Health Morsani College of Medicine, was recently named an Honor Member of Confederation of America’s Urologists.

Lockhart square

The award, which was presented to Dr. Lockhart at the group’s annual meeting in Uruguay in November, recognizes his work in urology and his significant contribution to the field in Latin America.

Also recently, Dr. Lockhart was nominated for the 2014 Moffitt Physician of the Year award, which recognizes those who embody “the finest qualities of a clinician and who consistently displays extraordinary clinical expertise and skill,” and are committed to quality patient care and relations, support a multidisciplinary approach to total cancer care, and are committed to teaching and mentoring fellows and residents.  The recipient of the 2014 Physician of the Year award will be announced in February.

Dr. Lockhart joined USF in 1987 from the University of Miami and is an internationally recognized leader in the field of urinary diversion and pelvic reconstruction. He has directed and developed the USF Urology residency program since that time, and under his guidance, it has steadily grown.

The Confederation of America’s Urologists includes all urologists from North America, Central America, South America, Spain and Portugal. Dr. Lockhart was president of this group from 1998 to 2000.