Dr. Jorge Lockhart receives Lifetime Achievement Award from Florida Urological Society

Jorge Lockhart, MD, distinguished professor and founding chair of the Department of Urology at the USF Health Morsani College of Medicine, recently received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Florida Urological Society Board of Directors.

Dr. Lockhart received the award for his decades of dedication and commitment to the urological community, academic contributions to urology, and membership and mentorship to the Florida Urological Society. He will be recognized with the award this September at the 69th Annual Meeting of the Florida Urological Society in Orlando.

Jorge Lockhart, MD

The Florida Urological Society, which was founded in 1948, provides an educational, political, social and economic forum and voice for all urologists in the state of Florida. Dr. Lockhart has been a member of the organization for decades.

This is just one of many recognitions for Dr. Lockhart. He was recently named a Distinguished USF Health Professor for his outstanding contributions to research and scholarly activity. He was also named an Honor Member of Confederation of America’s Urologists.

An international pioneer in the surgical and medical management of bladder cancer, Dr. Lockhart has contributed significantly to the knowledge of bladder function and conditions impacting the bladder. His research interests include reconstruction of the urinary tract following ablative surgery and urinary incontinence following radical surgery.

Dr. Lockhart joined USF in 1987 from the University of Miami and is an internationally recognized leader in the field of urinary diversion and pelvic reconstruction. He has also directed and developed the USF Urology residency program at USF Health, which under his leadership has steadily grown.

Dr. Lockhart is fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a past president of the American Confederation of Urology, representing more than 5,000 urologists from South and Central America, Spain and Portugal.  He is a member of the Society of Urologic Surgeons, an honor bestowed to the top 5 percent of urologists in the United States in recognition of exemplary contributions to education, research and innovation in the field of urology.

Story by Vjollca Hysenlika, USF Health  Communications and Marketing