USF pharmacy students earn statewide honors

Two USF College of Pharmacy students earned statewide honors and awards over the past few months.

Jennifer Marsh and Shantel Houston earned top awards from the Florida Pharmacy Foundation for their individual efforts in leadership and academic achievement.

Jennifer Marsh, a fourth-year pharmacy student, received the 2017 Hamilton, Harris, & Hobbs Student Presidential Award for her leadership and achievements as president of the Florida Student Chapter of the American Pharmacists Association. She is also an active member of the USF College of Pharmacy Student Delegates, Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society, the Rho Chi Society, and Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, Inc.

Marsh worked with the APhA-ASP Executive Committee and Advisors to establish goals for the year, through which they developed the first Chapter Leadership Retreat, improved student attendance at regional and state meetings, promoted advocacy efforts on and off campus, collaborated with local pharmacy owners, and strengthened the Chapter’s relationship with the Florida Pharmacy Association (FPA). Marsh currently sits on the FPA Professional Affairs Council. She is working on a white paper on effective advocacy for distribution to association members. She has a passion for policy and has attended the Florida Pharmacy Legislative Days each year in school in addition to visiting legislative offices in Washington DC.

The Hamilton, Harris, & Hobbs Student Presidential Award established in 2015 by Ed Hamilton, Betty Harris, and Mark Hobbs is based upon APhA involvement, Florida Pharmacy Association involvement, community and professional service, as well as academic achievement. This award is presented once a year at the Florida Pharmacy Association’s Annual Meeting where the recipient is recognized with an award and a $1,500 check.


Shantel Houston received the 2017 James B. and Patsey Powers Scholarship for her academic achievement, extensive community service, leadership in professional organizations, and demonstrated interest in independent pharmacy.

Houston is in her fourth year at the USF College of Pharmacy and currently serves as the Class President for the Class of 2018, is an invited member of the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society and the Rho Chi Society academic pharmacy honor society, holds leadership positions in the Kappa Epsilon Professional Pharmacy Fraternity, the Hispanic Association of Pharmacists, and the American Pharmacy Purchasing Alliance, and represents the College of Pharmacy as a Student Delegate. She is also a member of the Florida Pharmacy Association, the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists, and the National Community Pharmacists Association.

The scholarship award was established in 1992 in honor of Mr. Powers’ achievements as the Florida Pharmacy Association’s executive vice president. The award recognizes a pharmacy student with a $1000 award who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, made contributions through volunteer work and participated in professional or student organizations.