National Academy of Inventors selects USF Health neuroscientist as new Senior Member

USF Health neuroscientist Cesario Borlongan, PhD, was one of five University of South Florida faculty members named by the National Academy of Inventors to its new class of Senior Members.

Dr. Borlongan is a Distinguished USF Health Professor of neurosurgery and brain repair and director of the Center of Excellence for Aging & Brain Repair, USF Health Morsani College of Medicine.  He was among 54 academic inventors to be recognized as NAI Senior Members on Aug. 13, highlighting their achievements in inventing technologies that widely impacts society, as well as their proven success in licensing and commercialization.  With five selections, USF tied Saint Louis University for the most of any institution in the U.S.

Cesario Borlongan, PhD.

Dr. Borlongan was elected for “outstanding contributions and international leadership in the advancement of experimental therapies for neurological disorders, especially stroke stem-cell therapy.” He is considered a world leader in stem cell therapy for stroke. His translational “bench to clinic” research has led to five FDA-approved clinical trials of cell transplantation, including the world’s first cell therapy in stroke patients.

Recently a team led by Borlongan offered a new concept for how transplanted stem cells help prod the brain’s own repair mechanism following traumatic brain injury. Based in part on this preclinical study, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved a limited clinical trial to transplant an adult stem cell therapy in patients with traumatic brain injury. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

“Our innovative and entrepreneurial faculty members play an important role in making the University of South Florida a hub of academic excellence and a catalyst for economic development,” USF President Steve Currall said.  “Through creativity and discovery, we make a lasting impact on the future.”

To read about the other four USF faculty members newly elected to NIA, click here.