University of South Florida

Dr. Terri Ashmeade named a fellow of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine

USF Health’s Terri Ashmeade, MD, was among the senior women faculty members recently selected for the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women.

Dr. Ashmeade, associate professor of pediatrics in the USF Health Morsani College of Medicine, Chief Quality Officer for USF Health, and medical director for the NICU at Tampa General Hospital, was named a fellow in the 2016-2017 Class of ELAM.

Ashmede_Terri horizontal 600x400

Dr. Terri Ashmeade directs the Muma NICU at TGH and leads patient safety for USF Health.

“The 2016-2017 ELAM Class reflects an exciting diversity in many categories, including discipline, ethnicity, age, and geography,” said Diane Magrane, MD, director of the ELAM program, in her letter notifying this year’s fellows of their inclusion into ELAM. “What each of you share is a conviction that academic health centers must change in response to today’s societal, technological, and market forces and a desire to play a leadership role in guiding this process. The faculty and staff of ELAM look forward to helping you achieve this ambitious goal.”

ELAM, based at Drexel University College of Medicine, prepares senior women faculty at schools of medicine, dentistry, and public health to move into positions of leadership. ELAM’s intensive one-year fellowship program encompasses executive education, personal leadership assessments and coaching, and networking and mentoring activities. To be accepted into the highly competitive program, each Fellow must be nominated and supported by the dean or other senior official of her institution.

ELAM was established in 1995 to carry on the legacy of advancing women in medicine begun by the Female Medical College of Pennsylvania, the nation’s first women’s medical school and predecessor of today’s Drexel University College of Medicine.

USF Health faculty who were in previous ELAM classes include:

Patricia Emmanuel, MD, 2009-2010

Catherine Lynch, MD, 2012-2013

Lynn C. Moscinski, MD, 1996-1997

Kailie R. Shaw, MD, 1995-1996

Lynn C. Wecker, PhD, 1997-1998

Julie Y. Djeu, PhD, 1996-1997







Network-wide options by YD - Freelance Wordpress Developer