University of South Florida

USF Pharmacy students, faculty inducted into newest chapter of national honor society

The USF College of Pharmacy continued with firsts as the young school was officially accepted as a chapter of the international Rho Chi Honor Society, and 43 of the School’s students and faculty were inducted as the charter members.

The inaugural members of the Epsilon Kappa Chapter of Rho Chi.

The inaugural members of the Epsilon Kappa Chapter of Rho Chi.

Classmates, colleagues and family gathered April 27 to celebrate the landmark moment. The newly formed group, the Epsilon Kappa Chapter, is the 119th chapter for the national honor society. Since its inception in 1922, the Rho Chi Society has inducted more than 100,000 members into its fellowship. The society’s name is from the Greek letters Rho and Chi that, when juxtaposed a certain way, they form the prescription sign (Rx).

Rho Chi Society is the international academic honor society for pharmaceutical sciences. Induction into membership is reserved to those who distinguish themselves by their academic and professional achievements, said Bradley A. Boucher, PharmD, FCCP, FCCM, Rho Chi Society National President, who officiated the event.

“We are gathered here to install the 119th chapter into the Rho Chi family,” Dr. Boucher said. “Let me tell how special this evening is for you all. For the students being inducted tonight, you are the charter members – THE charter members – of the University of South Florida College of Pharmacy chapter of the Rho Chi Society. That is very special and I applaud all of your efforts to be here this evening. Your membership confers distinction, but keep this well in mind: no distinction, no honor, no privilege comes to anyone is without added responsibility.”

Dr. Bradley Boucher.

Dr. Bradley Boucher, presiding national officer and Rho Chi Society National President.

Dr. Boucher went on to share the Society’s mission and vision and what is expected of its chapters and members, saying “the Rho Chi Honor Society encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and fosters scholarship among its members, encourages high standards of conduct and character and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy, seeks to achieve universal recognition of its members as lifelong intellectual leaders in pharmacy.”

And for emphasis, he repeated “lifelong intellectual leaders.”

Kevin B. Sneed, PharmD, senior vice presidents for USF Health and founding dean of the USF College of Pharmacy, was among the 10 faculty members who were inducted. He offered this at the closing of the induction ceremony.

Dr. Kevin Sneed was one of 10 faculty inducted into Rho Chi.

Dr. Kevin Sneed was one of 10 faculty inducted into Rho Chi.

“Of all the many firsts for our college, this is one of the most prestigious that our college will ever experience,” Dr. Sneed said. “Congratulations to all of you. By being a part of Rho Chi and being a part of our USF College of Pharmacy, I have every expectation that all of you will go out and be the leaders who change pharmacy moving forward. By being a member of Rho Chi, you’ve been conferred not only a distinction, but a responsibility to take the lead in causing that transformation.”

“We will have a robust opportunity and chapter here at USF College of Pharmacy.”

Dr. Sarah Steinhardt, who was the faculty advisor for the founding executive board, emceed the induction event.

Dr. Sarah Steinhardt, who was the faculty advisor for the founding executive board, emceed the induction event.

First ever Rho Chi Honor Society ceremony at the USF Health College of Pharmacy   The installation of the Epsilon Kappa chapter of Rho Chi Honor Society

The following students were inducted:

Class of 2015

Luisa Alvarado
Sam Aminov
Frank Fernandez
Morgen Jaeger
Mark LaBossiere
Patrick McKeon II
Alexis Ngo
Tiffany Partney
Rossina Valarezo
Dalia Zall


Class of 2016

Richard Arnold
Jessie Blalock
Lauren Briggs
Ashley Chess
Steven Cindric
Ivonne DelValle
Dianet Gambe
Shauna Hair
Diana Jules
Jose Leon-Burgos
Sullivan Lynch
Thayra Molinary
Benny Yau


Class of 2017

Gabriella Agemy
Sara Anderson
Shannon Blizzard
Ramiek Campbell
Emmanuela Celestin
William Chan
Alex del Cueto
Scott Desmond
Elizabeth D’Esposito
John Donnelly
Sidorela Gllava
Anthony Howell
Erin Kennedy
Andrew Kowalski
Hannah McGrew
Angelia Papa
James Powers
Jonathan Santizo
Andrew Schwartz
Micah Smith
Samantha Tobitt-Carter
Sarah Zoldos


Class of 2018

Kristiann Baluta
Jennifer Caldwell
Nicole Doyle
Cameron Durlacher
Shantel Houston
Saneeya Islam
Bionqua Lynch
Shannon Wright


Faculty inductees included:

John Clark, PharmD, MS
Rachel Franks, PharmD, CDE, BCACP
William Kelly, PharmD
Shyam Mohapatra, PhD, MBA
Radha Patel, PharmD, BCACP
Yashwant Pathak, PhD, MS, MBA
Erini Serag-Bolos, PharmD
Kevin Sneed, PharmD
Katlynd Sunjic, PharmD
Sheeba Varghese Gupta, PhD, MPharm


Network-wide options by YD - Freelance Wordpress Developer