University of South Florida

MCOM welcomes first inductees in Academy of Distinguished Educators

Left to right: Kevin O’Brien, MD, FACP; Jessica Dominguez Rieg, PhD; Burt Anderson, PhD; Rebecca Edgeworth Ditwiler, PT, DPT, OCS; Douglas Haladay PT, DPT, PhD, MHS, OCS, CSCS; Amanda Tritsch; PhD, LAT, ATC, CSCS. Not pictured are Emad Mikhail, MD, FACOG, FACS; and Bryan G. Kane, MD.

The USF Health Morsani College of Medicine recently celebrated and welcomed the first ever inductees to the MCOM Academy of Distinguished Educators during a small ceremony in July. The first inductees are:

  • Burt Anderson, PhD – professor and associate dean, MCOM Molecular Medicine
  • Rebecca Edgeworth Ditwiler, PT, DPT, OCS – associate professor, MCOM School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
  • Douglas E. Haladay, PT, DPT, PhD, MHS, OCS, CSCS – director, MCOM chool of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences; associate dean and associate professor
  • Bryan G. Kane, MD – associate professor, MCOM Department of Medicine; assistant program director of research, Lehigh Valley Health Network Emergency Medicine Residency
  • Emad Mikhail, MD, FACOG, FACS – associate professor, MCOM Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Kevin O’Brien, MD, FACP – professor, MCOM Department of Internal Medicine
  • Jessica Dominguez Rieg, PhD – associate professor, MCOM School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences; associate professor Molecular Pharmacology and Physiology
  • Amanda J. Tritsch, PhD, LAT, ATC, CSCS – associate professor, MCOM Orthopedics and Sports Medicine; associate professor, MCOM School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences

Benefits that come with their induction include the title of Distinguished Educator, which can be used on their curriculum vitae, and membership in the Academy of Distinguished Educators.

USF Health Senior Vice President and MCOM Dean, Charles J. Lockwood, MD, MHCM, was on hand to congratulate the first class of inductees.  His remarks paid tribute to our recipients, saying that they represent how MCOM will continue grow and thrive with educators who go above and beyond.

“While the complexity of the university continues to grow, one thing remains constant: teaching is at the center of everything we do. All of you here today are a testament to why the Morsani College of Medicine continues to thrive and why our reputation across the nation continues to rise,” Dr. Lockwood said.  “Thank you for your devotion to your students and your commitment to the Morsani College of Medicine.”

The award is a collaborative effort between the MCOM’s Department of Medical Education, Faculty Council and Office of Faculty Affairs.  To enhance the practice, quality and scholarship of teaching and learning at MCOM. It is designed to honor exemplary MCOM educators of students, physicians, physician assistants, physical therapist, athletic trainers and scientists.

A faculty member must submit two letters of recommendation, hold an active appointment at MCOM for a minimum of two years and hold the title of at least associate professor to be considered.  In addition to demonstrated excellence as a teacher, nominees must demonstrate exceptional contributions to the education mission in one or more of the following ways:

  • Research in education.
  • Innovations and scholarly approaches in curriculum development and instructional design or assessment of student learning.
  • Mentoring and developing of faculty as educators or educational researchers.
  • Individual learner mentoring and development.
  • Leadership in education.

The selection committee, comprised of several vice deans and senior associate deans, will convene soon to begin reviewing nominations for the next class of inductees.


Network-wide options by YD - Freelance Wordpress Developer