Posted on Dec 16, 2009

Inaugural Path of Light Ignites Nursing Lives: Congratulates Awardees

Inaugural Path of Light Ignites Nursing Lives: Congratulates Awardees

Thank you to all of the exceptional faculty, staff, students, alumni, family and friends who attended our Path of Light Convocation Ceremonies this past weekend to congratulate our outstanding graduating nursing students.

A very special thanks to the alumni, faculty and friends of the College who participated in the inaugural Path of Light: Leila Barks, Marisa Belote, Cas Cahill, Allison Edmonds, Glenda Johnson, Versie Johnson-Mallard, Laurie King, Leslie Lockett, Denise Maguire, Jenny Molloy, Steve Morris, Christine Olney, Frances Rankin, Melissa Shelton, Sandy Vonnes and Mary Webb. The ceremonies were quite a success.


In addition, the Baccalaureate graduates truly enjoyed being pinned by their team coordinators and faculty.

IMG_8211 Fall 09 Convo BMC
Bayfront Medical Center (BMC) – pinned by Lisa Huhn

IMG_8214 Fall 09 Convo MPM
Morton Plant Mease (MPM) – pinned by Sandy Vonnes

IMG_8217 Fall 09 Convo TGH
Tampa General Hospital (TGH) – pinned by Jenny Molloy

IMG_8222 Fall 09 Convo UCH
University Community Hospital (UCH) – pinned by Cathy O’Neil

IMG_8226 Fall 09 Convo VANA
VA Nursing Academy (VANA) –pinned by Cas Cahill

IMG_8229 Fall 09 Convo VMS
Veterans/Moffitt/Shriner (VMS) –  pinned by Cas Cahill

IMG_8230 Fall 09 Convo RNBS
RN-BS  –  pinned by Patricia Hall

IMG_8237 Fall 09 Convo RWJF
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholars with Gail Schinka

Congratulations to our excellent Fall 2009 University of South Florida College of Nursing Alums and to those who received an award or recognition this weekend at the Path of Light Convocation Ceremonies:

Doctoral Awards and Recognitions

Outstanding PhD Dissertation Award

Presenter – Mary E. Evans, Associate Dean of Research and Director, Doctoral Programs

  • Liwliwa Reyes Villagomeza, PhD, MS, RN
    “Shifting Paradigms: The Development of Nursing Identity in Foreign-Educated Physicians Retrained as Nurses Practicing in the U.S.”

Outstanding DNP Evidence Based Practice Project Award
Presenter – Mary Webb, Director, Doctor of Nursing Practice Program

  • Maria Ciferni, DNP, MS, CNS, ACNP-BC
    “Predictors and Evaluation of the Liver Transplant Patient with Hepatopulmonary Syndrome”
  • Genieveve J. Cline, DNP, ARNP, NNP-BC, RNC
    “Implementation of an Evidence-Based Neonatal Code Blue Class to Enhance Knowledge and Skill Retention of Neonatal Nurses”
  • Jessica Heckel, DNP, MSN, CPNP-PC
    “Influence of Thyroid Peroxidase Antibodies on Maternal Outcomes in the Postpartum Period”
  • Otniel Hernandez, DNP, MS, ARNP
    “Utilization Trends of a Walk-in Clinic Health Delivery Model within a Primary Care Community Health Center by Patients at Risk for Cardiovascular Disease”
  • Lisa V. McConnell, DNP, MPH, RN
    “Diverse Forms of Violence Directed at Women: An E-Learning Module to Educate Advanced Practice Nursing Students at the University of South Florida”
  • Leila McKinney, DNP, MSN, ARNP, NP-C
    “The Utilization of Viable Primary Care Follow-Up After ED Discharge”
  • Diane McNerney, DNP, MS, NNP-BC
    “Management Guideline for Assisted Ventilation for the Nursery Intensive Care Unit at St Joseph’s Womens Hospital”
  • Raymond M. Shulstad, DNP, MS, ARNP-C, BC, DNC
    “Proportion of Follow-up Visits of Participants of Community Based Free Skin Cancer Screenings with High Risk Presumptive Diagnoses”

Masters Awards and Recognitions
Presenter – Denise Maguire, Interim Assistant Dean of Academics, Masters Program and Director, CNL Concentration

Student Registered Nurse Anesthesia Foundation at USF (SRNAF) – Graduating Officers

  • Latanya Lawrence – Senior Class President
  • Deborah Perry – Senior Class Vice President
  • Georgia Vong – Senior Class Treasurer
  • Lauryn Levernz – Senior Class Secretary

Advanced Nursing Practice Clinical Excellence Award

  • Suzan Abduljawad – Oncology
  • Linda Bellows – Family
  • Julie Elliot – Acute Care
  • Latanya Lawrence – Nurse Anesthesia
  • Kathleen Lindblad – Clinical Nurse Leader
  • Teresa Mahan – Pediatric
  • Beth Short – Psychiatric Mental Health
  • Susan Thorsen – Adult Concentration

Advanced Nursing Practice Excellence in Nursing Education Award

  • Margaret-Jo Hayes

Outstanding Academic Excellence Award (4.0 GPA)

  • Kija Brady – Family
  • Lindy Fireline – Acute Care
  • Jena Glenn – Nurse Anesthesia
  • Erin Groundland – Nurse Anesthesia
  • Scott Haase – Clinical Nurse Leader
  • Teresa Mahan – Pediatric
  • David Seal – Nurse Anesthesia
  • Jason Silva – Nurse Anesthesia
  • Pamela Vanvliet – Nurse Anesthesia

Baccalaureate Awards and Recognitions
Presenter – Cheryl Zambroski, Interim Assistant Dean of Academics, Undergraduate Program

College of Nursing Student Council Graduating Board Members

  • Natalie Bercini – CNSC Secretary
  • Shannon Hugo – Fall 2009 Class Treasurer
  • Tara Calise – Second Degree Class Service Representative
  • Lena Johnson – Second Degree Class Treasurer
  • Janel Carpenter – Fall 2009 Class President
  • Allison Lowe – CNSC President

USF Nursing Alumni Nightingale Award
Presenter – Melissa M. Shelton, BS-PhD Student, Vice President, College of Nursing Alumni & Friends Board

  • Natalie Bercini – Traditional
  • Tara Calise – Second Degree

Outstanding Baccalaureate Student (4.0 GPA)

  • Lena Champlin
  • Wilmarie Ramirez-Vega

Clinical Excellence

  • Kayla Escobio
  • Allison Kunze

Leadership Award

  • Lena Johnson
  • Allison Lowe

Service Award

  • Janel Carpenter

Spirit of Nursing Award

  • Brittney Benson
  • Ruthanne Brown
  • Danielle Falk

Honors Awards
Cum Laude

  • Kimberly Alford
  • Caroline Anderson
  • Erica Bavol
  • Tara Calise
  • Jenny Clanton
  • Jennifer Courtney
  • Lauren DeNeve
  • Kayla Escobio
  • Victoria Graves
  • Aubree Gresham
  • Debbie Guu
  • Melisa Jean-Charles
  • Lena Johnson
  • Rebecca Kibel
  • Allison Kunze
  • Carina Orren
  • Laura Pell
  • Stacy Richardson
  • Karen Ross
  • Rachel Scott
  • Kimberly Smith
  • Jennifer Swanson
  • Jeremiah Wright
  • Kristen Wright

Magna Cum Laude

  • Courtney Abreu
  • Bethany Brown
  • Ruthanne Brown
  • Danielle Falk
  • Danielle Hoeppner
  • Megan Hudson
  • Shannon Hugo
  • Cynthia Jacobs
  • Jean Pearman
  • Jaclyn Riverol
  • Marsha Robenstine

Summa Cum Laude

  • Brandi Brannon
  • Lena Champlin
  • Mia DeAngelis
  • Amanda Hill
  • Allison Lowe
  • Wilmarie Ramirez-Vega