2020-2021 DPT Scholarship Recipients

On Friday, April 9, 2021 we awarded our scholarships for the 2020-2021 academic year.  Students who are eligible for a scholarship are able to apply, and then our Scholarships & Awards Committee comprised of faculty and staff make the final decisions. Many of these scholarships are made available through kind donations of previous faculty, staff, and community members and organizations.

If you are interested in starting or donating to a School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences (SPT&RS) scholarship, contact Ashley Messer at amesser2@usf.edu. Below are the recipients of each scholarship for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Tom A. Tiedemann SPT&RS Circle of Motion Scholarship

This scholarship was setup by Tom Tiedemann a retired electrical worker from Minneapolis, MN. His background in engineering made him particularly interested in the ways physical therapy works to restore mobility and function. He was also moved when physical therapy was able to help a close relative regain movement, and in the end be able to walk again. This scholarship is awarded to a current DPT student based on academic performance and financial need.

Taylor Berlin, Class of 2022

Dr. Frederick W. and Nancy Kurtzman Scholarship

After graduating from medical school at Temple University in Philadelphia, Dr. Kurtzman came to Tampa to complete his residency at Tampa General Hospital in 1974 and was in private practice until 1999. He was chief of surgery and vice chief of staff at Town & Country Hospital. Kurtzman also was director of the Lifetime Cancer Screening Program at H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center. After 20 years in practice, Dr. Kurtzman suffered a back injury which led him to an interest in physical therapy and rehabilitation sciences.

Nancy Kurtzman is a licensed real estate agent.  She and Dr. Kurtzman have two sons.

This scholarship is awarded based on academic performance and financial need.

Gaby Gonzalez, Class of 2022

USF SPT&RS CORA Scholarship

A leader in physical and occupational therapy, CORA Health Services, Inc., provides clinical and outpatient rehabilitation services to patients at over 100 locations in the United States. This scholarship was established to provide financial assistance to currently enrolled graduates who are full-time students in the USF School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Services on the Tampa campus of USF.

This scholarship is awarded based on academic performance, interest in orthopaedic physical therapy, and involvement in the School.

Steven Fowler, Class of 2023

Future Professionals Scholarship

The Future Professionals Scholarship Fund was established in 2008 to provide scholarships for full or part time students enrolled in year 2 or 3 of the USF Doctoral in Physical Therapy Degree Program at the Morsani College of Medicine.

This scholarship is based on academic performance and how students encompass the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) core values.

Stephen Tran, Class of 2021

Johnene M. Vorholy Argus Memorial Scholarship

Mr. Argus established this scholarship in memory of his late wife, Johnene M. Vorholy. In 2001, Mrs. Vorholy received a Masters in Physical Therapy from USF.  Her drive for excellence was not only demonstrated in her professional life, but also in her athletics. She had an extremely competitive nature in every sport she played and participated in. She played field hockey in high school and college and ran track while at Nazareth. She was an avid marathon runner having run in the New York Marathon in 2008. Her other marathons included Nashville, San Francisco and Tampa. In addition to running, she loved being outdoors and enjoyed hiking, kayaking, biking, tennis, and golfing.

This scholarship is awarded based on academic excellence, clinical education performance, leadership & service to the School, and commitment to health promotion & wellness.

Joseph Schneider, Class of 2022

Laura Lee “Dolly” Swisher Scholarship

This is our newest scholarship created in 2020 by faculty and staff of the School to honor previous faculty member and third School Director, Dr. Swisher. This scholarship was created to continue her legacy of philanthropy and supporting the diversity of our School and profession. During her time as School Director she was able to increase scholarship funds, and diversity within our School.

This scholarship is awarded based on academic & clinical performance, involvement in the School, and students with diverse background (including but not limited to: race, color, ethnicity, language, nationality, sexual orientation, religion, gender, socioeconomic status, age, and physical and mental ability).

Lyssa Barochin, Class of 2021