Commitment to Professionalism Ceremony 2019

On April 5, 2019 the University of South Florida School of Physical Therapy held their annual Commitment to Professionalism Ceremony for the Class of 2021. The ceremony marks the time in which the students are welcomed into the profession by receiving their first White Coat, and they take a special Oath of Professionalism that the class creates. The students are coated by faculty advisors and then pinned by third year DPT students as a symbol of welcoming them to the Physical Therapy profession. This year the School was able to raise over $7,000 from 29 donors to cover the full cost of the 46 coats with the remaining funds going to student scholarships.

Dr. Sarah Blanton, PT, DPT, FNAP Associate Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, Division of Physical Therapy, Director of the DISCOvER lab, and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Humanities in Rehabilitation was the keynote speaker this year. She helped provide the students with insight into the profession, the importance of humanities in rehabilitation, and welcomed them to our amazing profession. During the ceremony the School also gave out various awards and scholarships to students to recognize them for their academic, professional, and clinical achievements.

The ceremony was capped off with a small reception to celebrate the students, and give their guests time to connect with the faculty and staff of the School.

(Dr. Swisher and Skye Haddock. Recipient of the Gregory R. Nicolosi Commitment to Professionalism Award)

(Dr. Swisher and Jennifer Hussey. Recipient of the Johnene M. Vorholy Memorial Scholarship)

(Dr. Swisher and Emily Jaffe. Recipient of the Dr. Frederick W. and Nancy Kurtzman Scholarship)

(Dr. Swisher and Ali Cochrane. Recipient of the Future Professionals Scholarship)

(Tom Tiedemann and Heather Senica. Recipient of the Tom A. Teidemann SPT&RS Circle of Motion Scholarship)

Below are various pictures from the ceremony: