Dr. John Mayer Recognized by ACA as Researcher of the Year


The American Chiropractic Association has named Dr. John Mayer, Lincoln Endowed Chair of Chiropractic & Biomechanical Research and Coordinator of Research for the SPTRS, as recipient of its 2013 George B. McClelland Researcher of the Year Award. This prestigious national award recognizes individuals who are leading the profession in advancing chiropractic research. It was presented to Dr. Mayer on February 28, 2014 in Washington, DC at the ACA Headquarters.

Dr. Mayer’s current research efforts are focused on developing and assessing the effectiveness of targeted exercise approaches for the back and core muscles to reduce risk of back injury and improve resilience in high risk occupations, such as emergency responders and military personnel.

“Dr. Mayer’s research highlights how conservative approaches to preventing back injuries benefit the brave men and women who put themselves in harm’s way in order to serve our country,” said ACA President Anthony Hamm, DC. “Prevention and proper exercise protocols have been a long-standing tenet of chiropractic management of spine conditions, providing further evidence of the value of Dr. Mayer’s research.”